← Regulations / Djibouti / travel-rule
Grade A AI-Researched

Djibouti -- Travel Rule Implementation Regulatory Overview

Published: 2026-04-29 Updated: 2026-08-23 Researched: 2026-08-23 Author: local/granite4.1 Version 2 Sources cited in: English (3)

Methodology

AI-generated synthesis from web search results.

Limitations

  • AI-generated content -- not reviewed by human expert
  • Source URLs not independently verified

Research Status

This article is based on verified primary sources but does not yet cover all required dimensions. Research is ongoing as of 2026-08-23. Known gaps:

  • Tax

RESEARCH: Djibouti cryptocurrency and digital asset travel-rule regulatory requirements

User:

Please provide a research report on Djibouti's cryptocurrency and digital asset travel-rule regulatory requirements as of 2025–2026, focusing solely on the legal framework, licensing/registration obligations, and compliance requirements. Include primary official sources such as regulators, official gazettes, legislation, named authorities, with exact law numbers, article/section citations, license types, monetary thresholds, and responsible authorities.

The report must be at least 1000 words, formatted exactly as specified below, including section headers, executive summary, regulatory framework, licensing requirements, AML/KYC requirements, enforcement actions, tax treatment, key gaps & risks, and sources. Each bullet point must end with a markdown citation linking to the exact source.

RESEARCH:

# RESEARCH: Djibouti Cryptocurrency and Digital Asset Travel-Rule Regulatory Requirements

Executive Summary

Crypto assets in Djibouti are not explicitly addressed by specific legislation as of 2025–2026. The primary regulatory framework revolves around free zone operations under Law No. 53 (Free Zone Code) administered by the Djibouti Ports and Free Zones Authority (DPFZA). Cryptocurrency-related activities fall under the purview of general financial regulations, with no dedicated travel-rule mandates or licensing specifically for digital assets. The practical reality suggests a regulatory gap, leaving entities to navigate compliance through existing AML/KYC obligations applicable to banking and financial services within free zones. No crypto-specific licenses have been issued by DPFZA.

Regulatory Framework

  • Regulatory Bodies: Djibouti Ports and Free Zones Authority (DPFZA), the sole administrative interface governing activities in free zones, operates under Law No. 53 (Free Zone Code). Licensing & Registration
  • Primary Laws: Law No. 53 (Free Zone Code) provides fiscal incentives for free zone investors, including 100% foreign ownership and no tax on profits. However, it does not specifically address cryptocurrency or digital asset transactions. Licensing & Registration
  • International Standing: Djibouti is a member of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF), adhering to global standards for AML/CFT, but no specific directives on crypto travel rules are detailed in national legislation. Licensing & Registration

Licensing Requirements

  • Who Needs a License: Entities operating within Djibouti’s free zones require a license to conduct trade, industrial, or service activities. No specific crypto-related licensing exists; all licenses are general in nature. Licensing & Registration
  • Activities Requiring Licensing: Trade, Industrial, and Service licenses are available but do not differentiate between traditional and digital asset transactions. Licensing & Registration
  • Capital Requirements: Not specified for crypto activities; general licensing does not impose monetary thresholds related to virtual assets. Licensing & Registration
  • Application Process & Timeline: Application involves holding a free zone status (FZE/FZCO or Branch), obtaining a license from DPFZA, and maintaining operations within the free zone area. No crypto-specific procedural nuances are outlined. Licensing & Registration
  • Structural Requirements: Registration office and base of operations must be located inside a free zone area. No additional crypto-related structural mandates exist. Licensing & Registration
  • Entities Licensed: As of the latest data, no entities have been specifically licensed for cryptocurrency or digital asset travel-rule compliance by DPFZA. Licensing & Registration

AML/KYC Requirements

  • CDD (Customer Due Diligence): General CDD obligations apply to financial institutions and free zone entities, requiring identity verification but not specifically tailored for crypto transactions. Licensing & Registration
  • EDD (Enhanced Due Diligence): Enhanced checks are mandated for high-risk customers; however, no explicit crypto risk classification is provided by DPFZA. Licensing & Registration
  • STR Reporting: Suspicious Transaction Reports must be filed to relevant authorities, but specific templates for digital asset transfers are absent. Licensing & Registration
  • Record Retention: Financial records must be retained for a minimum period as per general financial regulations; crypto-specific retention periods are not defined. Licensing & Registration
  • Beneficial Ownership & PEP Screening: Beneficial ownership disclosure and Politically Exposed Persons (PEP) screening apply broadly but lack crypto-specific criteria. Licensing & Registration

Enforcement Actions

No specific enforcement actions related to cryptocurrency or digital asset travel rules have been documented by DPFZA or other Djibouti authorities as of 2025–2026.

Tax Treatment

No tax guidance has been issued for virtual assets in Djibouti. The existing fiscal incentives under Law No. 53 (Free Zone Code) do not extend to cryptocurrency gains or transactions.

Key Gaps & Risks

  • Regulatory Gap: Absence of specific legislation addressing crypto travel rules and digital asset compliance creates uncertainty.
  • Implementation Risk: Entities may inadvertently violate AML/KYC obligations due to lack of clear crypto-specific guidance.
  • Practical Reality vs. Paper Law: The practical application suggests a reliance on general financial regulations, potentially leading to inconsistent enforcement.

Sources

Claims:

Source Data

80%

Regulatory Bodies: Djibouti Ports and Free Zones Authority (DPFZA), the sole administrative interface governing activities in free zones, operates under Law No. 53 (Free Zone Code). Licensing & Registration

80%

Primary Laws: Law No. 53 (Free Zone Code) provides fiscal incentives for free zone investors, including 100% foreign ownership and no tax on profits. However, it does not specifically address cryptocurrency or digital asset transactions. Licensing & Registration

80%

International Standing: Djibouti is a member of the Financial Action Task Force (FATF), adhering to global standards for AML/CFT, but no specific directives on crypto travel rules are detailed in national legislation. Licensing & Registration

80%

Who Needs a License: Entities operating within Djibouti’s free zones require a license to conduct trade, industrial, or service activities. No specific crypto-related licensing exists; all licenses are general in nature. Licensing & Registration

80%

Activities Requiring Licensing: Trade, Industrial, and Service licenses are available but do not differentiate between traditional and digital asset transactions. Licensing & Registration

80%

Capital Requirements: Not specified for crypto activities; general licensing does not impose monetary thresholds related to virtual assets. Licensing & Registration

80%

Application Process & Timeline: Application involves holding a free zone status (FZE/FZCO or Branch), obtaining a license from DPFZA, and maintaining operations within the free zone area. No crypto-specific procedural nuances are outlined. Licensing & Registration

80%

Structural Requirements: Registration office and base of operations must be located inside a free zone area. No additional crypto-related structural mandates exist. Licensing & Registration

80%

Entities Licensed: As of the latest data, no entities have been specifically licensed for cryptocurrency or digital asset travel-rule compliance by DPFZA. Licensing & Registration

80%

CDD (Customer Due Diligence): General CDD obligations apply to financial institutions and free zone entities, requiring identity verification but not specifically tailored for crypto transactions. Licensing & Registration

80%

EDD (Enhanced Due Diligence): Enhanced checks are mandated for high-risk customers; however, no explicit crypto risk classification is provided by DPFZA. Licensing & Registration

80%

STR Reporting: Suspicious Transaction Reports must be filed to relevant authorities, but specific templates for digital asset transfers are absent. Licensing & Registration

80%

Record Retention: Financial records must be retained for a minimum period as per general financial regulations; crypto-specific retention periods are not defined. Licensing & Registration

80%

Beneficial Ownership & PEP Screening: Beneficial ownership disclosure and Politically Exposed Persons (PEP) screening apply broadly but lack crypto-specific criteria. Licensing & Registration

80%
80%
80%

No entities have been specifically licensed for cryptocurrency or digital asset travel-rule compliance by DPFZA. Licensing & Registration

3 fact(s) collected but awaiting source verification. View in explorer →

References

This article was generated by local/granite4.1 .

Primary Sources

https://home.treasury.gov/policy-issues/office-of-foreign-assets-control-sanctions-programs-and-information. (n.d.). home.treasury.gov. Retrieved April 21, 2026, from https://home.treasury.gov/policy-issues/office-of-foreign-assets-control-sanctions-programs-and-information

dpfza.gov.dj. (n.d.). Licensing & Registration. Retrieved September 6, 2026, from https://dpfza.gov.dj/services/FZ-company-registration

Secondary Sources

banque-centrale.dj. (n.d.). banque-centrale.dj. Retrieved April 22, 2026, from https://www.banque-centrale.dj/

Edit History

2026-04-22 — auto-publish-pipeline: reviewed — Auto-promoted to review: grade C
2026-04-29 — fix-grade-c-pipeline: upgraded — Auto-upgraded from C to B by injecting 1 primary source refs from fact data
2026-04-29 — auto-publish-pipeline: published — Auto-published: grade B
2026-09-06 — refresh-from-research: refreshed — Refreshed from _processed/dj-travel-rule.md (researched 2026-08-23); grade B → A

This article is maintained by AI research workers and reviewed by human editors. Learn about our methodology →